Car Specs Lookup

Toyota Tacoma battery size

Battery group size
24F
BCI Group 24F
2023 Toyota Tacoma · 2 versions: see the table below
585 CCA minimum Type not specified: match your current battery
2016-2023 Toyota Tacoma (photo)
Shown: 2016–2023 Toyota Tacoma, 3rd gen. Trim shown may differ. Photo: HJUdall, CC0, via Wikimedia Commons

All verified years: Group 35 (2000–2004) · Group 24F (2000–2003, 2005–2023) · Group 27F (2005–2015)

Pick your model year:
YearsEngine / versionGroup sizeMin. CCAType
2017–2023 3.5L V6 Group 24F 585 –
2005–2023 2.7L 4-cyl Group 24F 585 –
2009–2015 4.0L V6 Group 27F 710 –
2005–2008 4.0L V6without cold-climate or towing package Group 24F 585 –
2005–2008 4.0L V6with cold-climate or towing package Group 27F 710 –
2004 2.4L and 2.7L 4-cyl2WD, standard battery Group 35 – –
2000–2003 2.4L and 2.7L 4-cyl2WD, standard battery Group 35 360 –
2000–2003 2.4L and 2.7L 4-cyl2WD, optional battery Group 24F 585 –
2000–2003 3.4L V6standard battery Group 35 360 –
2000–2003 3.4L V6optional battery Group 24F 585 –

– = not specified in our sources (hover for details): match the CCA or type on the battery in your car now. Last verified 2026-10-21; sources are listed below.

Check your car first

Confirm in your owner's manual. Battery fitment can change with engine, trim, option packages, market (US vs. Canada) and mid-year production changes. Before you buy, check the label on the battery that's in your car now and your owner's manual.

Sources for each row

Years / engineChecked against
2017–2023 3.5L V6Toyota Parts & Service (Toyota Motor North America); Interstate Batteries; Mopar (Stellantis), data from Battery Council International
2005–2023 2.7L 4-cylToyota Parts & Service (Toyota Motor North America); Interstate Batteries; Mopar (Stellantis), data from Battery Council International
2009–2015 4.0L V6Toyota Parts & Service (Toyota Motor North America); Interstate Batteries; Mopar (Stellantis), data from Battery Council International
2005–2008 4.0L V6 (without cold-climate or towing package)Toyota Parts & Service (Toyota Motor North America); Interstate Batteries; Mopar (Stellantis), data from Battery Council International
2005–2008 4.0L V6 (with cold-climate or towing package)Toyota Parts & Service (Toyota Motor North America); Interstate Batteries; Mopar (Stellantis), data from Battery Council International
2004 2.4L and 2.7L 4-cyl (2WD, standard battery)Toyota Parts & Service (Toyota Motor North America); Interstate Batteries; Mopar (Stellantis), data from Battery Council International
2000–2003 2.4L and 2.7L 4-cyl (2WD, standard battery)Toyota Parts & Service (Toyota Motor North America); Interstate Batteries; Mopar (Stellantis), data from Battery Council International
2000–2003 2.4L and 2.7L 4-cyl (2WD, optional battery)Toyota Parts & Service (Toyota Motor North America); Interstate Batteries; Mopar (Stellantis), data from Battery Council International
2000–2003 3.4L V6 (standard battery)Toyota Parts & Service (Toyota Motor North America); Interstate Batteries; Mopar (Stellantis), data from Battery Council International
2000–2003 3.4L V6 (optional battery)Toyota Parts & Service (Toyota Motor North America); Interstate Batteries; Mopar (Stellantis), data from Battery Council International

Full source list: Toyota TrueStart Batteries, 2025-2026 Updates (application guide) (checked 2026-10-19) · Interstate Batteries Application Guide 2023 (2000-2023 model years) (checked 2026-10-21) · 2021 Mopar Batteries Application Guide (BCI replacement data) (checked 2026-10-21). We store facts and links only; we don't copy manuals or guides. How we check specs.

How to replace the battery

Tools: 10 mm wrench or socket (some hold-downs need 12 or 13 mm or an extension), gloves, eye protection, terminal brush. Time: about 15–30 minutes for an under-hood battery; longer if it's in the trunk or under a seat.

  1. Park, turn everything off and take the key or fob out of the car.
  2. Disconnect the negative (–) cable first, then the positive (+).
  3. Remove the hold-down and lift the battery out. Batteries are heavy (often 35–60 lb); lift with your legs.
  4. Clean the tray and cable ends. Set in the new battery with the posts on the same sides as the old one.
  5. Fit the hold-down, connect positive (+) first, then negative (–). Tighten until the clamps don't twist by hand.
  6. If your car has a vent tube on the battery (common for trunk or cabin batteries), reconnect it.
  7. Start the car. Some newer vehicles with a battery monitor need a reset or registration after a new battery. Your owner's manual explains it; a parts store or dealer can do it if needed.

Most parts stores take old batteries for recycling and usually refund a core charge.

Recalls for the Toyota Tacoma (2000–2023)

NHTSA lists 53 recall campaigns across the years shown on this page (all components, not just batteries). Check your own car by VIN at nhtsa.gov/recalls.

CampaignReportedComponentModel years
25V0400002025-01-29STEERING:COLUMN2023
24V1520002024-02-27POWER TRAIN:AXLE ASSEMBLY2022–2023
23V4800002023-07-12STEERING:COLUMN2023
22V5200002022-07-21CHILD SEAT:VEHICLE LATCH ANCHOR2022–2023
22V3100002022-05-06EQUIPMENT:OTHER:LABELS2022
20V6820002020-11-04FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE:DELIVERY:FUEL PUMP2017–2020

Most recent 6 shown. Source: NHTSA Recalls API (recallsByVehicle), snapshot 2026-10-21.

FAQ

What size battery does a Toyota Tacoma take?

Verified sizes by year: Group 35 (2000–2004), Group 24F (2000–2003, 2005–2023), Group 27F (2005–2015). The exact size depends on engine and options, so use the table above for your year.

Does the Toyota Tacoma need an AGM battery?

Our sources don't list AGM as required for the verified years. If the battery in your car says AGM on the label, replace it with another AGM.

How many cold cranking amps (CCA) does a Toyota Tacoma need?

Minimum ratings in our sources range from 360 to 710 CCA depending on year and engine. Buying a battery with the same or higher CCA in the correct group size is fine.

Why are some Tacoma years missing?

We only show years we could check against a manufacturer-grade source. Not shown yet: 2000-2004 4WD 4-cylinder (Toyota lists Group 24F, the battery-maker guides list Group 35), 2004 V6 (Toyota lists 35, the others 24F), 2016 3.5L V6 (Interstate splits 2016 by cold-climate/towing package), 2024+ (new generation, Toyota's guide only so far), Tacoma Hybrid.

Related

NHTSA's vehicle database lists the Tacoma for model years 2000–2025 in the range we checked.

Spot a mistake? Email us (opens your email app with the vehicle filled in) or see how to report an error.