Car Specs Lookup

Toyota Corolla battery size

Battery group size
H4 / H5
Depends on engine / version
2025 Toyota Corolla · 2 versions: see the table below
345–345 CCA min, by version Type not specified: match your current battery
2020-2025 Toyota Corolla (photo)
Shown: 2020–2025 Toyota Corolla, 12th gen (E210) sedan. Trim shown may differ. Photo: Bull-Doser, Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons

All verified years: Group 35 (2000–2019) · Group 24F (2009–2012) · Group H4 (140R) (2020–2025) · Group H5 (47) (2020–2025)

Pick your model year:
YearsEngine / versionGroup sizeMin. CCAType
2020–2025 1.8L (gas and hybrid) Group H4 (140R) – –
2020–2025 2.0L 4-cyl (sedan) Group H5 (47) 345 –
2014–2019 1.8L 4-cyl Group 35 355 –
2009–2013 1.8L 4-cyl Group 35 – –
2011–2012 2.4L 4-cyl (XRS) Group 24F 585 –
2009–2010 2.4L 4-cyl (XRS) Group 24F 575 –
2006–2008 1.8L 4-cyl Group 35 420 –
2004–2005 1.8L 4-cyl Group 35 310 –
2000–2003 1.8L 4-cyl Group 35 360 –

– = not specified in our sources (hover for details): match the CCA or type on the battery in your car now. Last verified 2026-10-19; sources are listed below.

Check your car first

Confirm in your owner's manual. Battery fitment can change with engine, trim, option packages, market (US vs. Canada) and mid-year production changes. Before you buy, check the label on the battery that's in your car now and your owner's manual.

Sources for each row

Years / engineChecked against
2020–2025 1.8L (gas and hybrid)Toyota Parts & Service (Toyota Motor North America); Interstate Batteries; Mopar (Stellantis), data from Battery Council International
2020–2025 2.0L 4-cyl (sedan)Toyota Parts & Service (Toyota Motor North America); Interstate Batteries; Mopar (Stellantis), data from Battery Council International
2014–2019 1.8L 4-cylToyota Parts & Service (Toyota Motor North America); Interstate Batteries; Mopar (Stellantis), data from Battery Council International
2009–2013 1.8L 4-cylToyota Parts & Service (Toyota Motor North America); Interstate Batteries; Mopar (Stellantis), data from Battery Council International
2011–2012 2.4L 4-cyl (XRS)Toyota Parts & Service (Toyota Motor North America); Interstate Batteries; Mopar (Stellantis), data from Battery Council International
2009–2010 2.4L 4-cyl (XRS)Toyota Parts & Service (Toyota Motor North America); Interstate Batteries; Mopar (Stellantis), data from Battery Council International
2006–2008 1.8L 4-cylToyota Parts & Service (Toyota Motor North America); Interstate Batteries; Mopar (Stellantis), data from Battery Council International
2004–2005 1.8L 4-cylToyota Parts & Service (Toyota Motor North America); Interstate Batteries; Mopar (Stellantis), data from Battery Council International
2000–2003 1.8L 4-cylToyota Parts & Service (Toyota Motor North America); Interstate Batteries; Mopar (Stellantis), data from Battery Council International

Full source list: Toyota TrueStart Batteries, 2025-2026 Updates (application guide) (checked 2026-10-19) · Interstate Batteries Application Guide 2023 (2000-2023 model years) (checked 2026-10-21) · 2021 Mopar Batteries Application Guide (BCI replacement data) (checked 2026-10-21). We store facts and links only; we don't copy manuals or guides. How we check specs.

How to replace the battery

Tools: 10 mm wrench or socket (some hold-downs need 12 or 13 mm or an extension), gloves, eye protection, terminal brush. Time: about 15–30 minutes for an under-hood battery; longer if it's in the trunk or under a seat.

  1. Park, turn everything off and take the key or fob out of the car.
  2. Disconnect the negative (–) cable first, then the positive (+).
  3. Remove the hold-down and lift the battery out. Batteries are heavy (often 35–60 lb); lift with your legs.
  4. Clean the tray and cable ends. Set in the new battery with the posts on the same sides as the old one.
  5. Fit the hold-down, connect positive (+) first, then negative (–). Tighten until the clamps don't twist by hand.
  6. If your car has a vent tube on the battery (common for trunk or cabin batteries), reconnect it.
  7. Start the car. Some newer vehicles with a battery monitor need a reset or registration after a new battery. Your owner's manual explains it; a parts store or dealer can do it if needed.

Most parts stores take old batteries for recycling and usually refund a core charge.

Recalls for the Toyota Corolla (2000–2025)

NHTSA lists 55 recall campaigns across the years shown on this page (all components, not just batteries). Check your own car by VIN at nhtsa.gov/recalls.

CampaignReportedComponentModel years
25V0400002025-01-29STEERING:COLUMN2023
24V8780002024-11-21STEERING2023–2024
24V5480002024-07-23EQUIPMENT:OTHER:LABELS2024
23V8650002023-12-20AIR BAGS:SENSOR:OCCUPANT CLASSIFICATION2020–2021
23V4800002023-07-12STEERING:COLUMN2023
20V6820002020-11-04FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE:DELIVERY:FUEL PUMP2020

Most recent 6 shown. Source: NHTSA Recalls API (recallsByVehicle), snapshot 2026-10-21.

FAQ

What size battery does a Toyota Corolla take?

Verified sizes by year: Group 35 (2000–2019), Group 24F (2009–2012), Group H4 (140R) (2020–2025), Group H5 (47) (2020–2025). The exact size depends on engine and options, so use the table above for your year.

Does the Toyota Corolla need an AGM battery?

Our sources don't list AGM as required for the verified years. If the battery in your car says AGM on the label, replace it with another AGM.

How many cold cranking amps (CCA) does a Toyota Corolla need?

Minimum ratings in our sources range from 310 to 585 CCA depending on year and engine. Buying a battery with the same or higher CCA in the correct group size is fine.

Why are some Corolla years missing?

We only show years we could check against a manufacturer-grade source. Not shown yet: 2026+ (not yet verified). Corolla Hatchback, Corolla Cross, Corolla iM and GR Corolla are separate models we haven't added yet.

Related

NHTSA's vehicle database lists the Corolla for model years 2000–2025 in the range we checked.

Spot a mistake? Email us (opens your email app with the vehicle filled in) or see how to report an error.