Car Specs Lookup

Toyota Camry battery size

Battery group size
H5 / H6
Depends on engine / version
2024 Toyota Camry · 3 versions: see the table below
585–605 CCA min, by version Type not specified: match your current battery
2018-2024 Toyota Camry (photo)
Shown: 2018–2024 Toyota Camry, 8th gen (XV70). Trim shown may differ. Photo: Erik Drost, CC BY 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons

All verified years: Group 24F (2007–2017) · Group H6 (48) (2018–2024) · Group H5 (47) (2018–2024)

Pick your model year:
YearsEngine / versionGroup sizeMin. CCAType
2020–2024 2.5L 4-cyl (gas) Group H5 (47) 585 –
2018–2024 2.5L Hybrid12V auxiliary battery Group H5 (47) – –
2018–2024 3.5L V6 Group H6 (48) 605 –
2018–2019 2.5L 4-cyl (gas) Group H6 (48) 605 –
2010–2017 2.5L 4-cyl (gas) Group 24F 585 –
2007–2017 3.5L V6 Group 24F 585 –

– = not specified in our sources (hover for details): match the CCA or type on the battery in your car now. Last verified 2026-10-19; sources are listed below.

Check your car first

Confirm in your owner's manual. Battery fitment can change with engine, trim, option packages, market (US vs. Canada) and mid-year production changes. Before you buy, check the label on the battery that's in your car now and your owner's manual.

Sources for each row

Years / engineChecked against
2020–2024 2.5L 4-cyl (gas)Toyota Parts & Service (Toyota Motor North America); Interstate Batteries
2018–2024 2.5L Hybrid (12V auxiliary battery)Toyota Parts & Service (Toyota Motor North America); Interstate Batteries; Mopar (Stellantis), data from Battery Council International
2018–2024 3.5L V6Toyota Parts & Service (Toyota Motor North America); Interstate Batteries; Mopar (Stellantis), data from Battery Council International
2018–2019 2.5L 4-cyl (gas)Toyota Parts & Service (Toyota Motor North America); Interstate Batteries; Mopar (Stellantis), data from Battery Council International
2010–2017 2.5L 4-cyl (gas)Toyota Parts & Service (Toyota Motor North America); Interstate Batteries; Mopar (Stellantis), data from Battery Council International
2007–2017 3.5L V6Toyota Parts & Service (Toyota Motor North America); Interstate Batteries; Mopar (Stellantis), data from Battery Council International

Full source list: Toyota TrueStart Batteries, 2025-2026 Updates (application guide) (checked 2026-10-19) · Interstate Batteries Application Guide 2023 (2000-2023 model years) (checked 2026-10-21) · 2021 Mopar Batteries Application Guide (BCI replacement data) (checked 2026-10-21). We store facts and links only; we don't copy manuals or guides. How we check specs.

How to replace the battery

Tools: 10 mm wrench or socket (some hold-downs need 12 or 13 mm or an extension), gloves, eye protection, terminal brush. Time: about 15–30 minutes for an under-hood battery; longer if it's in the trunk or under a seat.

  1. Park, turn everything off and take the key or fob out of the car.
  2. Disconnect the negative (–) cable first, then the positive (+).
  3. Remove the hold-down and lift the battery out. Batteries are heavy (often 35–60 lb); lift with your legs.
  4. Clean the tray and cable ends. Set in the new battery with the posts on the same sides as the old one.
  5. Fit the hold-down, connect positive (+) first, then negative (–). Tighten until the clamps don't twist by hand.
  6. If your car has a vent tube on the battery (common for trunk or cabin batteries), reconnect it.
  7. Start the car. Some newer vehicles with a battery monitor need a reset or registration after a new battery. Your owner's manual explains it; a parts store or dealer can do it if needed.

Most parts stores take old batteries for recycling and usually refund a core charge.

Recalls for the Toyota Camry (2007–2024)

NHTSA lists 38 recall campaigns across the years shown on this page (all components, not just batteries). Check your own car by VIN at nhtsa.gov/recalls.

CampaignReportedComponentModel years
25V0280002025-01-22FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE:DELIVERY:FUEL PUMP2018
24V1280002024-02-21SEATS2023–2024
23V8650002023-12-20AIR BAGS:SENSOR:OCCUPANT CLASSIFICATION2020–2022
23V4320002023-06-15WHEELS:LUGS/NUTS/BOLTS/STUDS2023
21V8900002021-11-17SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC:POWER ASSIST:VACUUM2018–2019
20V6820002020-11-04FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE:DELIVERY:FUEL PUMP2018–2020

Most recent 6 shown. Source: NHTSA Recalls API (recallsByVehicle), snapshot 2026-10-21.

FAQ

What size battery does a Toyota Camry take?

Verified sizes by year: Group 24F (2007–2017), Group H6 (48) (2018–2024), Group H5 (47) (2018–2024). The exact size depends on engine and options, so use the table above for your year.

Does the Toyota Camry need an AGM battery?

Our sources don't list AGM as required for the verified years. If the battery in your car says AGM on the label, replace it with another AGM.

How many cold cranking amps (CCA) does a Toyota Camry need?

Minimum ratings in our sources range from 585 to 605 CCA depending on year and engine. Buying a battery with the same or higher CCA in the correct group size is fine.

Why are some Camry years missing?

We only show years we could check against a manufacturer-grade source. Not shown yet: 2000-2006 (size depends on US vs. cold-climate build; sources split between 24F and 35), 2007-2009 2.4L (sources disagree), 2007-2017 hybrids (Japanese JIS sizes; Toyota says use the original battery's spec), 2025+ (new generation, not yet verified).

Related

NHTSA's vehicle database lists the Camry for model years 2000–2025 in the range we checked.

Spot a mistake? Email us (opens your email app with the vehicle filled in) or see how to report an error.